Travel, encounter and experience German heritage alongside the Danube

Länder: ein | aus

2 Syrmien Slawonien Ungarisches Mittelgebirge Schwäbische Türkei Banat Batschka Pecs Novi Sad



The region of historical Banat covered a surface of approx. 28.500 km². After the post-World War I peace treaties, 18.700 km² lie in Romania, 9.300 km² in Serbia and the remaining 270 km² in Hungary.

explore Banat


Syrmia (German: Syrmien; Serbian: Srem, Croatian: Srijem; Hungarian: Szerémség) is a historical landscape between Danube and Sava which reaches from the Croatian city of Vinkovci in the west to the Serbian capital Belgrade in the east. Two thirds nowadays belong to the Serbian province of Vojvodina, one third lies in Croatia.

explore Syrmia


The name Slavonia derives from the Latin “Sclavonia”, which was a term for Slavic settlements in the middle ages. Slavonia belonged to the Kingdom of Croatia-Slavonia until 1918 which was part of the Austro-Hungarian Monarchy.

explore Slavonia


The region of Bačka (German: Batschka, Hungarian: Bácska, Serbian: Bačka) is bordered by the Danube to the west and south, by the Tisza in the east. To the north there is no natural border, the region ends between the cities of Baja and Szeged. Almost ninety percent of the historical Bačka belong to Serbia today, the smaller part lies in Hungary. Within Serbia, the region, which was first mentioned in the Treaty of Karlowitz in 1699, is nowadays part of the province Vojvodina.

explore Bačka


The district of Satu Mare (German: Sathmar, Hungarian: Szatmár) and district town by the same name are located in the northwest of Romania. The area is influenced by agriculture and inhabited by 370.000 people. In the north, Satu Mare borders on Ukraine, in the west on Hungary. Accordingly, the population of the district is diverse: it consists of Romanians (58 percent), Hungarians (35 percent), Germans (two percent) and other groups, such as Ukrainians and Slovakians (five percent).

explore Sathmar

Baden Württemberg

The German federal state of Baden-Württemberg is taken as a representative here for all those regions in Germany that are linked with Danube Swabian history.

explore Baden Württemberg

Transdanubian Mountains

The settlement areas in the Transdanubian Mountains cover several areas in the west of Hungary. They reach from the northern shore of Balaton to the Danube and the Slovakian border. For those areas with a German minority, the following names are often used: “Schildgebirge” (Vértes Mountains), “Buchenwald” (Bakony) and “Ofener Bergland” (Buda Mountains). The latter was named after the German name for Buda (German: Ofen), the western part of Budapest which gained independence in 1873. For Schildgebirge and Buchenwalde, the Hungarian names are more familiar even in German texts: Vértes and Bakony.

explore Transdanubian Mountains


Swabian Turkey

The southern Baranya was initially called “Swabian Turkey”. During the interwar time, this name comprised the region between Danube, Drava and Balaton.

explore Swabian Turkey